Suite Au Présent

Suite au présent - Photo : Grégoire Alexandre
Grégoire Alexandre

With this tribute to women composers in jazz, Edouard Ferlet revisits the greatest creations of the genre in a trio, giving them both a continuation and a new lease of life!

Over the decades, jazz, like classical music, has developed the nasty habit of conjugating itself in the masculine form, often leaving out the great female composers who have contributed to its success. With Suite au présent, Edouard Ferlet (piano), Simon Tailleu (double bass) and Raphaël Imbert (saxophone), 3 major figures of jazz in France, pay tribute to these unjustly forgotten great names, demonstrating at the same time to what extent we are faced with a musical genre more androgynous than ever.
By (re)discovering Toshiko Akiyoshi, Gery Allen, Terry Pollard, Mary Lou Williams or Amina Claudine through period sound recordings, the trio clearly shows its will to transmit. But their ambition does not stop there, as they take great pleasure in extending, enriching and deploying all the evocative power of these works to demonstrate their richness. Composing a suite live thus allows them to give them a new resonance, here and now. The most beautiful tribute that these three men could pay to these "invisibilised" works of the repertoire.



The Jazz Guide of Paris and its region
Download schedule Download schedule